Office of Diversity and Inclusion Land Acknowledgement

Greetings in Seminole Creek

Istonko! (pronounced “iss-tone-koh”)

Greetings in Miccosukee

Chehuntamo! (pronounced “chee-hun-tah-moh”)

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion recognizes the land of indigenous people many of whom lost their lives to genocide and were forced to leave their land,  the land held by the Ais, Apalachee, Calusa, Timucua and Tocobago tribes. The Seminole Tribe of Florida and the Miccosukee (me-co-sue-key) Tribe of Indians of Florida are two of  three federally recognized Seminole nations, along with the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma.

Currently there are six Seminole Tribe of Florida reservations across the state of Florida.

The Seminole Tribe did not exist until it was created by the Seminoles in 1957. The Seminole people, are the descendants of many Native Americans who have inhabited Florida, Georgia, Alabama, and parts of South Carolina, Tennessee, and Mississippi for at least 12,000 years. They lived as hundreds of separate tribes when the Spaniards, arrived in 1510. Over the last almost-500 years, however, as their descendants have endured diseases and warfare, the survivors of numerous Maskókî (Mass co Key) tribes grouped together in Florida, around a core of cimarrones (sim – a – rons)— refugees from the Spanish Florida missions. Only after the 1770s, when the first English speakers entered Florida, were they called Seminolies or Seminoles, Today, the entire group bears their Anglicized name, Seminoles.


ODI Land Acknowledgement Statement